Medical Education

2018 Resident Award Day Recipients
2018 Resident Award Day Recipients (listed below).

The Department of Medicine is deeply committed to the education and training of skilled clinicians, researchers, and educators bound to become the health care leaders of tomorrow. Under the leadership of Benjamin Clyburn, M.D., the Department of Medicine continues to pioneer evidence-based medicine training.

With 97 internal medicine resident trainees, and 88 fellows across nine programs, competitive training opportunities span the Department, College of Medicine, and beyond. MUSC’s Internal Medicine Residency program prioritizes collaboration, autonomy, and scholarship, and facilitates learning about highly diverse patients and diseases in a number of practice settings.

The Department offers fellowship programs across all nine divisions to provide extraordinary sub-specialty training with focus for clinical, clinician-educator, and research careers. The program recruits trainees from the top medical schools and residency programs in the country, and its alumni are among the most distinguished medical professionals in the United States and abroad, including many of the current faculty of MUSC.

Highlights & Accomplishments

  • Our 2017-18 graduates achieved a 95% percent pass rate on the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Certification Examination.

  • In 2018, a new Geriatric Medicine Fellowship program received initial accreditation from the ACGME. Under the direction of Mark A. Newbrough, M.D., the one-year program will address a critical need in South Carolina by training physicians to become specialists in the care of older adults.

  • In July 2018, the College of Medicine introduced the new Flex Curriculum that includes an option to complete medical school in three years. Though the three-year option is the most visible change to outsiders, it’s expected to affect only a couple of handfuls of students each year. This effort is part of the medical school’s revised curriculum, which not only gets students started earlier in studying disease and treatment, but also provides opportunities for students to tailor their studies to their interests, whether they are in research, global health, education or medical humanities. And it plans to integrate topics such as telehealth that have been treated as adjuncts in the past.

2018 Resident Award Day Winners - Internal Medicine Residency Program: 

Intern of the Year: Susan Evenhouse, M.D.

Resident of the Year: Lindsay Helget, M.D., and Maggie Thomas, M.D. (not pictured above)

Fellow of the Year: Clark Alsfeld, M.D. (Hematology/Oncology)

Attending of the Year (Michael E. Assey Award): Ben Kalivas, M.D., General Internal Medicine

Ambulatory Teacher of the Year: Andrew Schreiner, M.D., General Internal Medicine (not pictured above)

Division of the Year: Pulmonary and Critical Care

Outpatient Resident of the Year: Michael Whitlow, M.D.

Inpatient Resident of the Year: Merle Haulsee, M.D.