access intranet after hours circle-arrow apply blog caret circle arrow close closer look community outreach community outreach contact contact us down arrow facebook lock solid find a provider find a clinical trial find a provider find a researcher find faculty find-a-service how to apply join leadership left arrow locations logo make a gift map location maximize minimize my chart my chart notification hp notification lp next chevron right nxt prev pay your bill play previous quality and safety refer a patient request a speaker request appointment request an appointment residents corner rss search search jobs Asset 65 submit a story idea symptom checker Arrow Circle Up twitter youtube Dino Logo External Link University Logo Color University Logo Solid Health Logo Solid Arrow Right Circle Book Calendar Date Calendar Search Date Diploma Certificate Dollar Circle Donate Envelope Graduation Cap Map Pin Map Search Phone Pills Podcast

Staff & Executive Committee


Dr. Heather Boger, Interim Director
Heather Boger, Ph.D. is an Associate Professor in the Department of Neuroscience at the Medical University of South Carolina with a research focus on Parkinson’s disease. Dr. Boger also serves as the Director of the College of Medicine Senior Mentor Program.

Dr. Vanessa Hinson, Deputy Director
Vanessa Hinson, M.D, Ph.D., is Associate Professor of Neurology and Director of the Movement Disorders Program at MUSC. Dr. Hinson's special interests include the diagnosis and treatment of dystonia, Botulinum Toxin injections, Parkinson's disease, Huntington's disease and other movement disorders.

Kelly Franklin, Administrative Coordinator
Kelly has been a coordinator for the Center on Aging since 2010. Much of her time since joining the Center has been spent working with the Senior Mentor Program, the Carroll A. Campbell, Jr. Neuropathology Lab. Her role includes community and University relations through planning events, publishing newsletters, organizing speaking engagements, and serving as a liason between MUSC and the community with regards to aging research and education. Currently, Kelly is the PR Chair for the Lowcountry Senior Network and member of the National Aging in Place Coalition.

Executive Committee Members

  • Elaine AmellaProfessor, College of Nursing
  • Meredith Breen, Community Liaison, Breen Consulting
  • Federica del Monte, Associate Professor, College of Medicine
  • Mary Catherine DuBois, Social Worker, Palliative Care Program
  • Chris GregoryAssociate Professor, College of Health Professions and Department of Health Sciences & Research
  • Addie Middleton, Assistant Professor, College of Health Professions and Division of Physical Therapy
  • Mark Newbrough, Associate Professor, College of Medicine
  • Amanda OverstreetAssociate Professor, College of Medicine
  • Annie SimpsonAssociate Professor, Department of Health care, and Management