Faculty Announcements

Spring 2020

Winter 2020

  • Robert M. Sade., M.D. recognized as an Expertscape World Expert in Professional Ethics, as announced February 3, 2020, by independent ranking platform Dr. Sade received this recognition for being in the top 0.1% of scholars writing about Professional Ethics over the past 10 years.
  • Nancy DeMore, M.D. appointed to serve as a Member of the Scientific Program Committee for the Society of Surgical Oncology. 
  • David Mahvi, M.D. received notification his presentation of “African American Surgeons in the south after WWII – Separate … but Equal?” at the 2019 annual Halsted Society meeting has been chosen to receive the seventh annual Peter D. Olch Award for best history paper.
  • Cynthia Talley, M.D. has been selected to join the Board of Directors for the Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma (EAST). Dr. Talley will serve as the Education Division Chair, which oversees the Annual Program and Online Education Committees.
  • Heather Evans, M.D., MS is appointed to serve as a member of the Surviving Sepsis Campaign Steering Committee  for the Society of Critical Care Medicine. Her appointment will be for a two- year term with the possibility for one renewable two year term.
  • Evert Eriksson, M.D. was named chair and Steven Kahn, M.D. was named co- chair of the Lowcountry Regional Trauma Advisory Council (LC-RTAC).

  • MUSC Children’s Heart Center has once again earned a distinguished three-star rating from The Society of Thoracic Surgeons (STS) for its patient care and outcomes in congenital heart surgery. 

Fall 2019

  • Katy Morgan, M.D. confirmed by the American College of Surgeons as the SESC Representative to the ACS Advisory Council for General Surgery. 
  • Jean Marie Ruddy, M.D. selected to participate in the inaugural cohort of the Leadership Development Program, a collaborative effort between the Society for Vascular Surgery, Society for Clinical Vascular Surgery, and the Vascular and Endovascular Surgery Society. Dr. Ruddy was also selected to attend the Association of American Medical Colleges 2019 Mid-Career Women Faculty Leadership Development Seminar. 
  • Aaron Lesher, M.D. named IDeA Fellow 2019. The NIH IDeA fellowship was launched in 2015 under the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD). 
  • Cynthia Talley, M.D. appointed Chair of the Member Service Committee of the Young Fellows Association (YFA) of the American College of Surgeons for a two-year term


Summer 2019

Fall 2018 | Spring 2019

  • Heather Evans, M.D., vice chair of Clinical Research and Applied Informatics, is co-author on Evaluation of Wound Photography for Remote Postoperative Assessment of Surgical Site Infections published online in JAMA Surgery
  • David B. Adams, M.D. honored with Order of the Palmetto, State's Highest Honor
  • David Mahvi, M.D. appointed Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs in the MUSC Department of Surgery
  • Jean Marie Ruddy, M.D. named Associate Program Director for Resident Research in the MUSC Department of Surgery.
  • Alicia R. Privette, M.D. and Ken R. Catchpole, Ph.D., S.C. SmartStateTM Endowed Chair in Clinical Practice and Human Factors at MUSC designed a Smartphone app to improve teamwork and communication in trauma care  
  • MUSC Surgical Oncologist Dr. Andrea Abbott Earns Certification for Hidden Scar™ Breast Cancer Surgery 
  • Minoo Kavarana, M.D. honored with 2018 MUSC Foundation Outstanding Clinician Award
  • Mark Lockett, M.D. surgeon lead for the South Carolina Surgical Quality Collaborative (SCSQC), secured a $650,000 Duke Endowment
  • Rochelle Ringer, M.D. recognized for Top Quality Care |  named Hilton Head Hospital’s 2018 Physician of the Year
  • Shikar Mehrotra, Ph.D. received a 2018 American Association of Immunologists (AAI) Careers in Immunology Fellowship
  • Nancy DeMore, M.D. selected to the Top 10 Medtech Women in Southeast  
  • Aaron Lesher, M.D. received the ABA-Shriners Best Pediatric Burn Paper Award 
  • Derek DuBay, M.D. received a $335,000 Duke Endowment


New Faculty

David Mahvi, M.D. Appointed Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs in the MUSC Department of Surgery