Dr. Christine Carter-Kent and colleague.

Dean's Diversity Council

 

The College of Medicine Dean's Diversity Council was initially formed in the Spring of 2001 and was charged with discussing and updating the college’s statement on faculty and student diversity, establishing new goals for diversity within the College of Medicine, and assessing recruitment and retention of residents, post-docs, and faculty. The immediate goal of the committee was to develop a 5-year diversity plan for the College of Medicine. The council also developed a diversity assessment that served as a method for creating a standardized database for assessing progress in the area of diversity. The unwavering dedication and hard work of the Dean's Diversity Council have led to great strides in diversity. Currently, all departments within the College of Medicine have established 5-year diversity plans that are in line with the College of Medicine’s diversity plan. Diversity Council members serve as liaisons to each department, assisting with departmental plans, and providing diversity-related resources. These efforts have positioned us to strengthen the achievement of our mission and to enhance diversity in the College of Medicine.

Michael de Arellano, PhD, Chair
Senior Associate Dean for Diversity
Professor Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
dearelma@musc.edu

Kelli Jenkins, MSEd
Assistant Director for Diversity
College of Medicine Dean’s Office
andke@musc.edu

Natalie Johnson, MA
Associate Dean for Diversity Affairs
College of Medicine Dean's Office
johnsong@musc.edu

Claudia Salazar, BA
Program Coordinator II for Diversity Affairs
College of Medicine Dean's Office
salazarc@musc.edu

Kristen Hood Watson, MD
Assistant Dean for Resident Inclusion
Assistant Professor
Department of Family Medicine
watsonkh@musc.edu

Sherrie Nesbitt
Administrative Assistant to Senior Associate Dean for Diversity
Administrative Assistant to Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education
College of Medicine Dean's Office
nesbitts@musc.edu

Mileka Gilbert, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Pediatrics
gilbertm@musc.edu

James Tolley, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Emergency Medicine
tolleyj@musc.edu

David Marshall, MD
Professor and Chair
Department of Radiation Oncology
marshadt@musc.edu

Leslie Hirsig, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Radiology and Radiological Science
hirsig@musc.edu

Anita Ramsetty, MD
Associate Professor
Department of Family Medicine
ramsetty@musc.edu

Bethany Carlos, MD
Resident
Department of Pediatrics
carlosb@musc.edu

Jonathan Goodloe, MD
Resident
Department of Orthopedics
goodloej@musc.edu

Megann Helton-Reiter, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
heltonm@musc.edu

Sarah Book, M.D., MSCR    
Associate Professor
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
booksw@musc.edu

Benjamin Clyburn, MD 
Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and Continuing Medical Education
College of Medicine
clyburnb@musc.edu 

Temeia Martin, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
martintd@musc.edu

Angela Moreland, MD
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
moreland@musc.edu

Paul Pritchard, MD
Professor
Department of Neurology
pritchap@musc.edu

Myra Haney-Singleton, MEd
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
College of Medicine Dean's Office
haneymk@musc.edu 

Paula Jones, MBA
Director of Health Careers Program
SC AHEC
jonespa@musc.edu