access intranet after hours circle-arrow apply blog caret circle arrow close closer look community outreach community outreach contact contact us down arrow facebook lock solid find a provider find a clinical trial find a provider find a researcher find faculty find-a-service how to apply join leadership left arrow locations logo make a gift map location maximize minimize my chart my chart notification hp notification lp next chevron right nxt prev pay your bill play previous quality and safety refer a patient request a speaker request appointment request an appointment residents corner rss search search jobs Asset 65 submit a story idea symptom checker Arrow Circle Up twitter youtube Dino Logo External Link University Logo Color University Logo Solid Health Logo Solid Arrow Right Circle Book Calendar Date Calendar Search Date Diploma Certificate Dollar Circle Donate Envelope Graduation Cap Map Pin Map Search Phone Pills Podcast
Dr. Christine Carter-Kent and colleague.

Dean's Diversity Council

The College of Medicine Diversity Committee was initially formed in the Spring of 2001 and was charged with discussing and updating the college’s statement on faculty and student diversity, establishing new goals for diversity within the College of Medicine, and assessing recruitment and retention of residents, post-docs, and faculty. The immediate goal of the committee was to develop a 5-year diversity plan for the College of Medicine. The committee also developed a diversity assessment that served as a method for creating a standardized database for assessing progress in the area of diversity. The unwavering dedication and hard work of the Diversity Committee have led to great strides in diversity. Currently, all departments within the College of Medicine have established 5-year diversity plans that are in line with the College of Medicine’s diversity plan. Diversity committee members serve as liaisons to each department, assisting with departmental plans, and providing diversity-related resources. These efforts have positioned us to strengthen the achievement of our mission and to enhance diversity in the College of Medicine.

Michael de Arellano, Ph.D. Chair
Senior Associate Dean for Diversity
Professor Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Sarah Book, M.D., MSCR    
Associate Professor
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Leah Fryml, M.D.
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

David Garr, M.D.
Associate Dean for Community Medicine
Executive Director, SC AHEC
Family Medicine  

Leoni Gordon, M.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Faculty Development
Radiology Residency Program Director
Director of Nuclear Medicine

Myra Haney-Singleton, M.Ed.
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
College of Medicine Dean's Office

Kelli Jenkins, BS
Program Coordinator for Diversity
College of Medicine Dean’s Office

Natalie Johnson, MA
Assistant Dean for Diversity Affairs
College of Medicine Dean's Office

Selina Juarez

Shaun Nguyen, M.D.
Associate Professor

Paul Pritchard, M.D.
Residency Training Director

Angela Ybarra, MHA
Program Administrator
Graduate Medical Education