Dr. Christine Carter-Kent and colleague.

Dean's Diversity Council

 

The College of Medicine Dean's Diversity Council was initially formed as the COM Diversity Committee in the Spring of 2001, charged with discussing and updating the college’s statement on faculty and student diversity, establishing new goals for diversity within the College of Medicine, and assessing recruitment and retention of residents, post-docs, and faculty. The immediate goal of the committee was to develop a 5-year diversity plan for the College of Medicine. The committee also developed a diversity assessment that served as a method for creating a standardized database for assessing progress in the area of diversity. The committee grew in scope and transitioned to the current group, the Dean's Diversity Council.  The unwavering dedication and hard work of this group has led to great strides in diversity. Currently, all departments within the College of Medicine have established 5-year diversity plans that are in line with the College of Medicine’s diversity plan. Diversity Council members serve as liaisons to each department, assisting with departmental plans, and providing diversity-related resources. These efforts have positioned us to strengthen the achievement of our mission and to enhance diversity in the College of Medicine.

Michael de Arellano, Ph.D., Chair
Senior Associate Dean for Diversity
Professor Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
dearelma@musc.edu

Natalie Johnson, DHA
Associate Dean for Diversity Affairs
College of Medicine Dean's Office
johnsong@musc.edu

Mileka Gilbert, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Resident and Faculty Inclusion
Associate Professor Pediatric Rheumatology
Department of Pediatrics
gilbertm@musc.edu

Kelli Jenkins, MSEd
Director for Diversity
College of Medicine Dean’s Office
andke@musc.edu

Madeleine Fink
Program Coordinator
College of Medicine Dean's Office
finkma@musc.edu

Sherrie Nesbitt
Administrative Assistant to Senior Associate Dean for Diversity
College of Medicine Dean's Office
nesbitts@musc.edu

James Tolley, M.D.
Assistant Professor Emeritus
Department of Emergency Medicine
tolleyj@musc.edu

David Marshall, M.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Radiation Oncology
marshadt@musc.edu

Leslie Spence, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Radiology and Radiological Science
hirsig@musc.edu

Anita Ramsetty, M.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Family Medicine
ramsetty@musc.edu

Megann Helton-Reiter, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
heltonm@musc.edu

Sarah Book, M.D., MSCR    
Associate Professor
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
booksw@musc.edu

Benjamin Clyburn, M.D. 
Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and Continuing Medical Education
College of Medicine
clyburnb@musc.edu

Temeia Martin, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
martintd@musc.edu

Angela Moreland, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
moreland@musc.edu

Myra Haney-Singleton, MEd
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
College of Medicine Dean's Office
haneymk@musc.edu

Kristen Hood Watson, M.D.
Associate Professor
Co-Clerkship Director
College of Medicine
watsonkh@musc.edu

Leander Cannick, M.D.
Assistant Professor
College of Medicine
cannicl@musc.edu

Aundrea Loftley, M.D.
Associate Professor
College of Medicine
easona@musc.edu

Juana Slade, CDM CCF
Director of Diversity and Language Services
AnMed Health
juana.slade@anmedhealth.org

Marla Sagatelian
College of Medicine Student
Co-President of LMSA
sagateli@musc.edu

Caroline Brailsford
College of Medicine Student
Co-President of LMSA
brailsfo@musc.edu

Avery Ofoje
College of Medicine Student
Co-President of SNMA
ofoje@musc.edu

Christian Barksdale
College of Medicine Student
Co-President of SNMA
barksdac@musc.edu