Dr. Anotonovich with assistant and patient

Department of Dermatology & Dermatologic Surgery

The Department was founded in December 1979. Since then, the city and the University have undergone a remarkable renaissance. Growth has been explosive, and buildings under construction – both for clinical care and research – are a constant fixture on campus. In addition to our main downtown facility at Rutledge Tower, we have satellite clinics in North Charleston, Summerville, Mount Pleasant, and West Ashley.

We offer comprehensive care in medical, surgical, and cosmetic dermatology and are proud to offer the services of two dermatologic surgeons with fellowship training in Mohs micrographic skin cancer surgery. We see patients from the Tri-county region as well as referrals from all over the southeast. We have an academically-oriented faculty, many of whom have held leadership positions in the two major organizations for dermatology professionals – the American Academy of Dermatology and the American Board of Dermatology.

The Department offers residency training in dermatology and fellowship training in procedural dermatology and pediatric dermatology, as well as an elective in dermatology for fourth year medical students.

The Department of Dermatology is committed to excellence in patient care, education, and research.