The Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) BIRCWH Leadership

Principal Investigator - Jacqueline McGinty, Ph.D.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee (SC) is composed of the PI (Brady), the PD (McGinty), and faculty representing programs and four colleges across the MUSC campus. This group is responsible for assisting in the recruitment and selection of BIRCWH scholars. They assist in promoting BIRWCH through their colleges/programs to ensure a pool of qualified applicants. They meet quarterly to assess applications and select scholars, monitor and track the Scholars’ career development plans and progress to ensure that the research experience is interactive and integrated with the program plan and objectives, and to help organize activities such as seminar series, workshops/symposia and relevant courses. The constituency of the SC ensures multi- and interdisciplinary perspectives in recruitment, selection, and mentoring activities to achieve our stated objectives for a broad base of knowledge and skills, information exchange and interaction, continuous learning, networking, and outstanding career development opportunities in women’s health research.

In addition to Drs. Brady and McGinty, the MUSC BIRCWH Steering Committee members include:

  • Marc Chimowitz, M.D., ChB, Professor of Neurosciences, Associate Dean for Faculty Development, and Director of the SCTR KL2 Program, serves as liaison with SCTR training and career development programs.
  • Ronald E. Acierno, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Research and Professor, College of Nursing.
  • Aimee McRae-Clark, Pharm.D., BCPP, Professor of Psychiatry and Neurosciences and Clinical Associate Professor of Pharmacy, is an active gender-focused clinical researcher who has served as preceptor and mentor for clinical pharmacy fellows and junior faculty.
  • Heather S. Bonhila, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Health Science and Research, College of Health Professions; Member of MUSC Mentor Leadership Council; Co-Chair of the Faculty Senate Communication Committee; Director of the Ph.D. Program in Rehabilitation Sciences.

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board (AB) meets annually and provides oversight and direction in the development, implementation, and evaluation of the BIRCWH Program. The Board includes internal members who represent key components of university administration and constituent colleges or departments, and two external members who have national recognition and direct experience in women’s health research, mentorship, and research career development (see table below). The AB directly consults with and advises the PI and PD. They evaluate the overall conduct of the BIRCWH Program and advise on recruitment and retention of a cadre of scholars with appropriate diversity of racial, ethnic, gender and disciplinary backgrounds, use of program resources, and future research directions and opportunities.

Kathleen T. Brady, M.D., Ph.D.

Women's Health/Interdisciplinary Clinical and Translational Research

VP for Research; CTSA Principal Investigator; Distinguished University Professor; Former K12 PI for BIRCWH, NIDA, CTSA

Thomas E. Curry, Jr, Ph.D.

Women's Health; Training and Mentorship

BIRCWH K12 PI; Professor and Vice-Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, University of Kentucky

Deborah Deas, M.D., MPH

Administration/Diversity Initiatives

Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Senior Associate Dean of Admissions, College of Medicine, and Senior Admissions, College of Medicine, and Senior Associate Dean for Diversity, Interim Dean, College of Medicine, MUSC

Carol Feghali-Bostwick, Ph.D.

Interdisciplinary and Translational Research; Training and Mentorship, Advancement of Women Faculty

Kitty Trask Holt Endowed Chair and Professor, MUSC
CTSA KL2 (K12) and TL1 (T32) Associate PI; Director, NSF-funded ARROWS Program (advancement, recruitment, and retention of women in science)

Gary Gilkeson, M.D.

Women's Health/Interdisciplinary Clinical and Translational Research

Professor of Rheumatology and Immunology and Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Faculty Development, College of Medicine, MUSC