access intranet after hours circle-arrow apply blog caret circle arrow close closer look community outreach community outreach contact contact us down arrow facebook lock solid find a provider find a clinical trial find a provider find a researcher find faculty find-a-service how to apply join leadership left arrow locations logo make a gift map location maximize minimize my chart my chart notification hp notification lp next chevron right nxt prev pay your bill play previous quality and safety refer a patient request a speaker request appointment request an appointment residents corner rss search search jobs Asset 65 submit a story idea symptom checker Arrow Circle Up twitter youtube Dino Logo External Link University Logo Color University Logo Solid Health Logo Solid Arrow Right Circle Book Calendar Date Calendar Search Date Diploma Certificate Dollar Circle Donate Envelope Graduation Cap Map Pin Map Search Phone Pills Podcast

Distinguished Alumni


The Department of Surgery H. Biemann Othersen, Jr., M.D. Distinguished Alumni Award honors an alumnus whose career has significantly enhanced the surgical profession through education, research, and continuous contributions to society. 

Recipients of this award are recognized for his or her outstanding service to the Surgical Profession for notable accomplishments in surgical research, clinical practice or medical education with distinction bestowed locally, nationally, or internationally.  

The following surgeons have distinguished themselves to receive recognition: 

2018: Margaret Metcalf, M.D. 

2017: R. Randolph Bradham, M.D. 

2016: Spence Taylor, M.D., FACS 

2015: A. Frederick Schild, M.D. 

2014: Randolph D. Smoak, Jr., M.D

2013: Lewis M. Flint, M.D., FACS

2013: H. Biemann Othersen, M.D.