Surgical Critical Care Fellowship

Downtown Charleston
Downtown Charleston is known for its historic beauty, secret gardens, picture-perfect cobblestone streets, and classic architecture.

100% Board Pass Rate | 100 % Match Rate | 100% Job Placement 

Program Basics:

  • Established 2006, ACGME accredited
  • Length: One year w/ possible non-accredited second year
  • Twelve months CC training at a Level One Trauma Center; primary rotation in STICU
  • Limited in-house call (1-2 days/month)
  • Weekend rounding approximately two week-ends per month (comp. by noon)
  • Respond to Level A (high-level) traumas
  • Operative cases on ICU patients
  • Lead CC teaching conference (2/month)
  • 3-4 months of elective critical care rotations
  • Moonlighting opportunities available, if desired

Why choose MUSC Surgical Critical Care?

  • Fellow participation in both research and quality-improvement project
  • Program pays for attendance of one national conference (regardless of presenting) and one education course of their choice (i.e. ECMO, ATOM, ASSET)
  • Program pays for attendance of one national conference if presenting
  • Exposure to wide patient population of critically ill patients, including transplant, ENT, ECMO with the future addition of a Burn ICU
  • Opportunity to design elective portion of rotation to reflect personal career choice (i.e. Interventional Radiology, CVICU, Cardiac Anesthesia, PICU, NSICU, etc.)

How to Apply:

Applications are accepted through the Surgical Critical Care and Acute Care Surgery Fellowship Application Service at the SAFAS website.

Apply Now! 

The SAFAS application for appointment year 2023 is now open. 

The SAFAS application deadline is July 31, 2022

Interview Process:

We will contact applicants between April and May to set up interviews. 

Contact Information

Alicia Privette M.D. 

Alicia Privette, M.D.

SCC Program Director

Stephanie MackeyStephanie Mackey 

Program Coordinator
Phone: 843-792-2098
Fax: 843-792-4523



Nationally Recognized Faculty:

Bruce Crookes, M.D. 
2017 President of the Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma 

Cynthia Talley, M.D.
Board of Directors for the Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma (EAST). Serves as the Education Division Chair
Chair of the Member Service Committee of the Young Fellows Association (YFA) of the American College of Surgeons for a two-year term
Inaugural Cohort of the ACS Certificate in Applied Surgical Education Leadership Program

Heather Evans, M.D., MS
Member of the Surviving Sepsis Campaign Steering Committee for the Society of Critical Care Medicine
Co-author on Evaluation of Wound Photography for Remote Postoperative Assessment of Surgical Site Infections published online in JAMA Surgery

Evert Eriksson, M.D.
Chair of the Lowcountry Regional Trauma Advisory Council (LC-RTAC)
Member of the Western Trauma Association

Stephen Fann, M.D. 
President of the South Carolina Chapter of the American College of Surgeons. 

Steven Kahn, M.D.
Co-chair of the Lowcountry Regional Trauma Advisory Council (LC-RTAC) 

Meet the Residents

Gina Lamb   

Gina Lamb, MD

Medical School: Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Honduras Facultad de Ciencias Médicas, Honduras

Hometown: Honduras

Hobbies: Painting, Drawing and Cooking

Kevin Records   

Kevin Records, MD

Medical School: University of Texas Health Science San Antonio, TX

Hometown: Houston, TX

Hobbies: Mountain biking, road biking, running, auto repair/detailing