Emergency Medicine Faculty Directory 

 

Department Chairman

Terry Kowalenko, M.D., FACEP, FAAEM
Professor of Emergency Medicine
kowalenk@musc.edu

Professors

Christine M. Carr, M.D., CPE, FACEP
Department of Public Health Sciences (Dual Appointment)
Clinical Director, Carolina eHealth Alliance (CeHA)
Sr. Clinical Advisor, South Carolina Hospital Association
Chief Clinical Officer, Health Sciences South Carolina
Medical Director, Isle of Palms Fire Department
carrc@musc.edu

Edward C. Jauch, M.D., MS, FAHA, FACEP (Adjunct Faculty)
Professor, Department of Neurology
Professor, Department of Bioengineering (adjunct) Clemson University
jauch@musc.edu

Diann M. Krywko, M.D., FACEP 
Director, Personal and Professional Wellness and Development
krywko@musc.edu

Lancer A. Scott, M.D., FACEP
Director, Center for Health Professional Training and Emergency Response (CHPTER)
Chief, Emergency Medicine Section, VA Charleston
scottlan@musc.edu

Associate Professors

Jeffrey S. Bush, M.D., FACEP
Director, Residency Program
bushjs@musc.edu

Nicholas J. Connors, M.D.  (Affiliate Faculty)
connorsn@musc.edu

David M. French, M.D., FACEP, FAAEM  (Affiliate Faculty)
frenchda@musc.edu

Gregory Hall, M.D., MHA, FACEP
Promotion and Tenure Co-Chair
hallga@musc.edu

Lindsey Jennings, M.D., MPH
Assistant Director, Residency Program
jennil@musc.edu

Edward C. O'Bryan III, M.D., MBA, CPE
Executive Director, MUSC Health Solutions 
Founder, Global EM Program and PA EM/Tele Fellowship
obryanec@musc.edu 

Bradley C. Presley, M.D., RDMS
Promotion & Tenure Co-chair
presley@musc.edu

Steven H. Saef, M.D., MSCR, FACEP
saefs@musc.edu

Simon C. Watson, M.D., FACEP
Associate Director, Residency Program
Director, Medical Student Education (Clerkship)
watsonsc@musc.edu

Assistant Professors

Ryan Barnes, D.O. 
Director, Emergency Ultrasound
Director, Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship
Director of Medical Student Ultrasound Education
Department of Pediatrics, Division of Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Dual Appointment)
barnesry@musc.edu

Marc T. Bartman, M.D., FACEP
bartmanm@musc.edu

Kevin T. Dyer, M.D.
dyerk@musc.edu

Gary F. Headden, M.D.
headdeng@musc.edu

Dustin LeBlanc, M.D., FAEMS
Medical Director, Emergency Preparedness
Medical Director, LifeGuard MEDUCARE Ground Services
Medical Director, Special Event Medicine
leblancd@musc.edu

L. Wade Manaker, M.D., FACEP (Affiliate Faculty)
Medical Director, Meducare Air
manaker@musc.edu

Andrew J. Matuskowitz, M.D.
Medical Director, ED Informatics
matuskow@musc.edu

W. Brett McGary, M.D., FACEP
Medical Control Physician - Local Fire Departments
mcgarywb@musc.edu

Lacey MenkinSmith, M.D., CTropMed, FACEP
Director, Global Emergency Medicine
Director, Global Emergency Medicine Fellowship
Director, Emergency Medicine High Risk Infectious Disease
Associate Medical Director, Emergency Department
Medical Director, Back 2 Business
Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Medicine (Dual Appointment)
menkin@musc.edu

Cindy Oliva, M.D., RDCS, RDMS
Core Ultrasound Faculty
olivac@musc.edu

Thomas A. Pollehn, M.D.
Assistant Director, Simulation Based Education
pollehn@musc.edu

Aalap Shah, M.D.
EUS Resident Education Director
shahaa@musc.edu

Morsal Tahouni, M.D.
Medical Director, Emergency Department
Director, Simulation Based Education
tahouni@musc.edu

Yalani L. Vanzura, M.D.
vanzuray@musc.edu

Julia West, M.D. 
Department of Medicine, Division of Palliative Care (Dual Appointment)
aranaj@musc.edu

Libby Winton, M.D. 
Department of Orthopaedics (Dual Appointment)
bartone@musc.edu

Clinical Assistant Professors

Jonathan C. Ellement, M.D.
ellement@musc.edu

Kathryn Koval, M.D., MPH
kovalk@musc.edu

Jordan J. McCarthy, M.D.
mccartj@musc.edu

Clinical Instructors/Fellows

Earl Cummings, M.D.
Emergency Ultrasound Fellow
cumminge@musc.edu

Rebecca Teague, M.D.
Global Health Emergency Medicine Fellow
teaguer@musc.edu

Richard Tsen, M.B.B.S.
Global Health Emergency Medicine Fellow
tsen@musc.edu

Dual Appointment Faculty

Charles M. Andrews, M.D., FACEP
Director, Neurocritical Care Fellowship
Associate Professor, Department of Neurosurgery
andrewscm@musc.edu

Keith T. Borg, M.D., Ph.D., FACEP
Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Division of Emergency Medicine
borgk@musc.edu

Christine Holmstedt, D.O., FAHA
Medical Director, MUSC Health Teleneuroscience
Professor, Department of Neurology
holmsted@musc.edu