Emergency Medicine Faculty Directory 

 

Department Chairman

Terry Kowalenko, M.D., FACEP
Professor of Emergency Medicine
kowalenk@musc.edu

Professors

Christine M. Carr, M.D., CPE, FACEP
Department of Public Health Sciences (Dual Appointment)
Clinical Director, Carolina eHealth Alliance (CeHA)
Sr. Clinical Advisor, South Carolina Hospital Association
Chief Clinical Officer, Health Sciences South Carolina
Medical Director, Isle of Palms Fire Department
carrc@musc.edu

Edward C. Jauch, M.D., MS, FAHA, FACEP (Adjunct Faculty)
Professor, Department of Neurology
Professor, Department of Bioengineering (adjunct) Clemson University
jauch@musc.edu

Diann M. Krywko, M.D., FACEP 
Director, Personal and Professional Wellness and Development
krywko@musc.edu

Lancer A. Scott, M.D., FACEP
Director, Center for Health Professional Training and Emergency Response (CHPTER)
Chief, Emergency Medicine Section, VA Charleston
scottlan@musc.edu

Associate Professors

Christina L. Bourne, M.D.
Associate Dean, Student Career Planning & Advising (CoM)
bournec@musc.edu

Jeffrey S. Bush, M.D., FACEP
Director, Residency Program
bushjs@musc.edu

Nicholas J. Connors, M.D.
Director, Toxicology
connorsn@musc.edu

David M. French, M.D., FACEP, FAAEM
Director, Prehospital Medicine
frenchda@musc.edu

Edward C. O'Bryan III, M.D., CPE
Director, Global Health
Executive Director, MUSC Health Solutions
Chief Medical Officer, MUSC Business Health
Director, Business/Institutional/DTC TeleHealth
Medical Director, Physician Assistant Program
obryanec@musc.edu 

Bradley C. Presley, M.D., RDMS
Director, Emergency Ultrasound
Promotion & Tenure Co-chair
presley@musc.edu

Steven H. Saef, M.D., MSCR, FACEP
saefs@musc.edu

Simon C. Watson, M.D., FACEP
Associate Director, Residency Program
Director, Medical Student Education (Clerkship)
watsonsc@musc.edu

Assistant Professors

Ryan Barnes, D.O.
Director, Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship
Director of Medical Student Ultrasound Education 
barnesry@musc.edu

Marc T. Bartman, M.D., FACEP
bartmanm@musc.edu

Jeffrey P. Caporossi, M.D.
Promotion & Tenure Co-chair
caporosj@musc.edu

Meghan A. Cummins, M.D.
cumminsm@musc.edu

Daniel W. Fisher, DO, FACEP
fisherdw@musc.edu

Gregory Hall, M.D., MHA, FACEP

Medical Director, Adult Emergency Department
hallga@musc.edu

Gary F. Headden, M.D.
headdeng@musc.edu

Lindsey Jennings, M.D., MPH

Assistant Director, Residency Program
jennil@musc.edu

Dustin LeBlanc, M.D.
Medical Director, Emergency Preparedness
Medical Director, LifeGuard MEDUCARE Ground Services
Medical Director, Special Event Medicine
leblancd@musc.edu

Kathryn Koval, M.D., MPH
kovalk@musc.edu

L. Wade Manaker, M.D., FACEP (Affiliate Faculty)
Medical Director, Meducare Air
manaker@musc.edu

Andrew J. Matuskowitz, M.D.
Medical Director, ED Informatics
matuskow@musc.edu

W. Brett McGary, M.D., FACEP
Medical Control Physician - Local Fire Departments
mcgarywb@musc.edu

Lacey MenkinSmith, M.D., CTropMed
Global Emergency Medicine Fellowship Director
menkin@musc.edu

Cindy Oliva, M.D., RDCS, RDMS
olivac@musc.edu

Thomas A. Pollehn, M.D.
Assistant Director, Simulation Based Education
pollehn@musc.edu

Aalap Shah, M.D.
shahaa@musc.edu

Morsal Tahouni, M.D.
Director, Simulation Based Education
tahouni@musc.edu

Yalani L. Vanzura, M.D.

vanzuray@musc.edu

Libby Winton, M.D.(Dual Appointment)
Department of Orthopaedics
bartone@musc.edu

 

Dual Appointment Faculty

Charles M. Andrews, M.D., FACEP
Director, Neurocritical Care Fellowship
Associate Professor, Department of Neurosurgery
andrewscm@musc.edu

Keith T. Borg, M.D., Ph.D., FACEP
Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Division of Emergency Medicine
borgk@musc.edu

Christine Holmstedt, D.O., FAHA
Medical Director, MUSC Health Teleneuroscience
Professor, Department of Neurology
holmsted@musc.edu

Clinical Instructors

Earl Cummings, M.D.
cumminge@musc.edu

Alexandra Monroe, M.D., MPH
monroeal@musc.edu

Kyle Embertson, M.D.
Emergency Ultrasound Fellow
embertso@musc.edu

Richard Tsen, M.B.B.S.
Global Health Emergency Medicine Fellow
tsen@musc.edu

Julia West, M.D.
Palliative Care Fellow
aranaj@musc.edu