Emergency Medicine Faculty Directory 

 

Department Chair

Diann M. Krywko, M.D., FACEP 
Professor
krywko@musc.edu

Distinguished University Professor

Christine M. Carr, M.D., CPE, FACEP
Department of Public Health Sciences (Dual Appointment)
Clinical Director, Carolina eHealth Alliance (CeHA)
Sr. Clinical Advisor, South Carolina Hospital Association
Chief Clinical Officer, Health Sciences South Carolina
Medical Director, Isle of Palms Fire Department
carrc@musc.edu

Professors

Lancer A. Scott, M.D., FACEP
Chief, Emergency Medicine Section, VA Charleston
scottlan@musc.edu

Associate Professors

Jeffrey S. Bush, M.D., FACEP
Director, Residency Program
bushjs@musc.edu

Nicholas J. Connors, M.D.  (Affiliate Faculty)
connorsn@musc.edu

David M. French, M.D., FACEP, FAAEM  (Affiliate Faculty)
frenchda@musc.edu

Gregory Hall, M.D., MHA, FACEP
Co-Chair, Promotion and Tenure Committee
hallga@musc.edu

Lindsey Jennings, M.D., MPH
Assistant Director, Residency Program
jennil@musc.edu

Andrew J. Matuskowitz, M.D.
Medical Director, ED Informatics
matuskow@musc.edu

Lacey MenkinSmith, M.D., CTropMed, FACEP
Senior Advisor, Global Emergency Medicine
Medical Director, Back 2 Business
Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Medicine (Dual Appointment)
menkin@musc.edu

Edward C. O'Bryan III, M.D., MBA, CPE
Executive Director, MUSC Health Solutions
Founder, Global EM Program and PA EM/Tele Fellowship
obryanec@musc.edu 

Bradley C. Presley, M.D., RDMS
Co-Chair, Promotion & Tenure Committee
Core Ultrasound Faculty, VA Emergency Department
presley@musc.edu

Simon C. Watson, M.D., FACEP
Associate Director, Residency Program
Director, Medical Student Education (Clerkship)
watsonsc@musc.edu

Assistant Professors

Ryan Barnes, D.O. 
Director, Emergency Ultrasound
Department of Pediatrics, Division of Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Multiple Appointment)
College of Health Professions, Department of Physician Assistant Studies, Adjunct Instructor
barnesry@musc.edu

Marc T. Bartman, M.D., FACEP
Director, Emergency Telemedicine Services
bartmanm@musc.edu

Earl Quinn Cummings V, M.D.
Director, Resident Ultrasound Education 
cumminge@musc.edu

Kevin T. Dyer, M.D.
Assistant Medical Co-Director, Emergency Department
dyerk@musc.edu

Gary F. Headden, M.D.
headdeng@musc.edu

Kathryn Koval, M.D., MPH
Director, Global Emergency Medicine
Director, Global Emergency Medicine Fellowship
kovalk@musc.edu

Dustin LeBlanc, M.D., FAEMS
Chief Medical Officer, ATC and Emergency Management
Director, Prehospital Medicine
Medical Director, Emergency Preparedness
Medical Director, Special Event Medicine
leblancd@musc.edu

L. Wade Manaker, M.D., FACEP (Affiliate Faculty)
Medical Director, Meducare Air
manaker@musc.edu

W. Brett McGary, M.D., FACEP
Medical Control Physician - Local Fire Departments
mcgarywb@musc.edu

Bryant P. Nelson, M.D.
nelsobry@musc.edu

Cindy Oliva, M.D., RDCS, RDMS
Director, Ultrasound-Guided IV Program
Core Ultrasound Faculty
Assistant Medical Co-Director, Emergency Department
olivac@musc.edu

Sam Ontiveros, M.D.
ontivers@musc.edu

Jeanhyong Danny Park M.D., FACEP
parkje@musc.edu

Thomas A. Pollehn, M.D.
Assistant Director, Simulation Based Education
pollehn@musc.edu

Aalap Shah, M.D., FACEP, FPD-AEMUS
Director, Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship
shahaa@musc.edu

Morsal Tahouni, M.D.
Medical Director, Emergency Department
Director, Simulation Based Education
tahouni@musc.edu

Rebecca Teague, M.D.
teaguer@musc.edu

Yalani L. Vanzura, M.D.
vanzuray@musc.edu

Julia West, M.D. 
Director, Wellness, Health, and Resilience 
Department of Medicine, Division of Palliative Care (Dual Appointment)
aranaj@musc.edu

Libby Winton, M.D. 
Department of Orthopaedics (Dual Appointment)
bartone@musc.edu

Clinical Assistant Professors

Abdullah Almehbash, M.D.
almehbas@musc.edu

Brent Bushkar, M.D.
bushkar@musc.edu

Charlotte Collins, M.D.
collicha@musc.edu;

Jordan J. McCarthy, M.D.
mccartj@musc.edu

Evan Verplancken, M.D.
verplanc@musc.edu

Clinical Instructors/Fellows

Matthew Hewitt, M.D.
Fellow, Emergency Ultrasound
hewittma@musc.edu

Claire Milam, M.D.
Fellow, Global Emergency Medicine
milamc@musc.edu

Dual Appointment Faculty

Charles M. Andrews, M.D., FACEP
Director, Neurocritical Care Fellowship
Associate Professor, Department of Neurosurgery
andrewscm@musc.edu

Keith T. Borg, M.D., Ph.D., FACEP
Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Division of Emergency Medicine
borgk@musc.edu

Christine Holmstedt, D.O., FAHA
Medical Director, MUSC Health Teleneuroscience
Professor, Department of Neurology
holmsted@musc.edu