Emergency Medicine Faculty Directory 

Department Chair

Terry Kowalenko, M.D.
Professor of Emergency Medicine
kowalenk@musc.edu

Professors

Christine M. Carr, M.D., FACEP, CPE
Department of Public Health Sciences (Dual Appointment)
Clinical Director, Carolina eHealth Alliance (CeHA)
Sr. Clinical Advisor, South Carolina Hospital Association
Medical Director, Isle of Palms Fire Department
carrc@musc.edu

Edward C. Jauch, M.D., MS, FAHA, FACEP 
Professor, Department of Neurology
Professor, Department of Bioengineering (adjunct) Clemson University
jauch@musc.edu

Diann M. Krywko, M.D., FACEP 
Director, Personal and Professional Wellness and Development
krywko@musc.edu

Lancer A. Scott, M.D., FACEP
Director, Center for Health Professional Training and Emergency Response (CHPTER)
Chief, Emergency Medicine Section, VA Charleston
scottlan@musc.edu

Associate Professors

Christina L. Bourne, M.D.
Associate Dean, Student Career Planning & Advising (CoM)
bournec@musc.edu

Jeffrey S. Bush, M.D., FACEP
Director, Residency Program
bushjs@musc.edu

Nicholas J. Connors, M.D.
Director, Toxicology
connorsn@musc.edu

David M. French, M.D., FACEP, FAAEM
Director, Prehospital Medicine
frenchda@musc.edu

Edward C. O'Bryan III, M.D.
Director, Global Health
Lead, TeleMedicine
obryanec@musc.edu 

Bradley C. Presley, M.D., RDMS
Director, Emergency Ultrasound
presley@musc.edu

Steven H. Saef, M.D., MSCR, FACEP
saefs@musc.edu

Simon C. Watson, M.D., FACEP
Associate Director, Residency Program
Director, Medical Student Education (Clerkship)
watsonsc@musc.edu

Assistant Professors

Marc T. Bartman, M.D., FACEP
bartmanm@musc.edu

Libby Barton, M.D.
bartone@musc.edu

Jeffrey P. Caporossi, M.D.
caporosj@musc.edu

Meghan A. Cummins, M.D.
cumminsm@musc.edu

Daniel W. Fisher, DO, FACEP
fisherdw@musc.edu

Gregory Hall, M.D., FACEP

Medical Director, Adult Emergency Department
Director, Quality Improvement and Patient Safety
hallga@musc.edu

Gary F. Headden, M.D.
headdeng@musc.edu

Lindsey Jennings, M.D., MPH

Assistant Director, Residency Program
jennil@musc.edu

Dustin LeBlanc, M.D.
Medical Director, Meducare Ground
leblancd@musc.edu

Kathryn Koval, M.D., MPH
kovalk@musc.edu

L. Wade Manaker, M.D., FACEP
Medical Director, Meducare Air
manaker@musc.edu

Andrew J. Matuskowitz, M.D.
Director, Chest Pain Center Medical
matuskow@musc.edu

W. Brett McGary, M.D., FACEP
Medical Control Phyiscian - Local Fire Departments
mcgarywb@musc.edu

Lacey MenkinSmith, M.D.

Global Emergency Medicine Fellowship Director
menkin@musc.edu

Thomas A. Pollehn, M.D.
Assistant Director, Simulation Based Education
pollehn@musc.edu

Aalap Shah, M.D.
shahaa@musc.edu

Morsal Tahouni, M.D.
tahouni@musc.edu

Yalani L. Vanzura, M.D.

vanzuray@musc.edu

Dual Appointment Faculty

Charles M. Andrews, M.D., FACEP
Director, Neurocritical Care Fellowship
Department of Neurosurgery
andrewscm@musc.edu

Keith T. Borg, M.D., Ph.D., FACEP
borgk@musc.edu

Christine Holmstedt, D.O., FAHA
Medical Director, MUSC Health Teleneuroscience
Department of Neurology
holmsted@musc.edu

Clinical Instructors

Earl Cummings, M.D.
cumminge@musc.edu

Alexandra Monroe, M.D., MPH
monroeal@musc.edu

Kyle Embertson, M.D.
Emergency Ultrasound Fellow
embertso@musc.edu

Richard Tsen, M.B.B.S.
Global Emergency Medicine Fellow
tsen@musc.edu