Emergency Medicine Advanced Practice Provider Directory

 

Advanced Practice Providers

Rachel Beeks, MPA, PA-C
beeksrk@musc.edu

Kristin Calandra, MPAS, PA-C
calandrk@musc.edu

Jessica Casey, MSPAS, PA-C
caseyj@musc.edu

Matthew K. Ewald, MSPAS, PA-C
ewald@musc.edu

Jana MacDonald, MSPAS, PA-C
CAQ-certified EM
macdonja@musc.edu

Tracy Mapes, MPAS, PA-C
tracym@musc.edu

Patrick McNeal, MSPAS, PA-C
mcnealp@musc.edu

Jennifer Preston, PA-C
fralixj@musc.edu

Crispin F. Reeves, MPAS, PA-C
reevesc@musc.edu

Shelia Roxanne Riser, MPAS, PA-C
risers@musc.edu

Daniel Venancio, MPAS, PA-C
venancio@musc.edu

Susan L. Zayac, DNP, FNP-C
zayacs@musc.edu

Emergency Medicine/Telemedicine PA Fellows

Andrew Brewer, PA
breweran@musc.edu

Anna Guitton, PA
guitton@musc.edu

Lindsey Jones, PA
jonlinds@musc.edu

Grace Schaefer, PA
schaefeg@musc.edu

Ryan Stone, PA
stonery@musc.edu

Kaylin Walters, PA
waltekay@musc.edu

The Physician Assistant Fellowship in Emergency Medicine and Telemedicine represents a unique opportunity to combine the skills of Telemedicine with the rigors and diversity of an academic Level 1 Trauma Center Emergency Medicine Department. The first PA Fellowship in South Carolina, our program was founded in 2017 and continues to expand both in terms of clinical care, academic integrity, and unique forms of health care delivery. Fellows participate in clinical shifts in the MUSC Adult Emergency Department and Ashley River Tower Emergency Department/Chest Pain Center as well as attend weekly didactic/simulation sessions. The fellows are a vital part of the telemedicine team and participate in telehealth delivery to a variety of urgent and emergent populations across the state of South Carolina.

  • The fellowship is 1 year in length and fellows spend roughly 8-9 shifts a month in the ER and 6-7 shifts a month on Telemedicine. The ER shifts are in a team-based atmosphere and typically 12 hours in length. The Telemedicine shifts are from home/remotely as all of our current technology allows for access on iphones/etc. Educationally, the fellows are incorporated into the emergency residents lecture series, which meets every week and includes skills workshops, simulation, grand rounds, etc. Monthly telemedicine workshops and review sessions are held. Other opportunities available to the PA fellows include global health journal club, ultrasound practice/workshops every week and teaching in the MUSC PA Program (optional). This fellowship prepares you for a career in Emergency Medicine, Urgent Care and Telemedicine.
  • Five PA Fellows will be accepted into the 2020-2021 cohort with an expected start date of October 2020. The program provides full benefits (health insurance, etc), licensing support, a competitive salary and CME allowance.
  • Current applications can be found on the MUSC Jobs website.
  • If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to the Emergency Medicine/Telemedicine PA Fellowship Director, Roxanne Riser, MPAS, PA-C, risers@musc.edu You may also visit the Center of Telehealth Website.