DSC Board of Directors

The Diabetes Initiative of South Carolina Board of Directors:

  • Annually assesses the effects of diabetes mellitus in South Carolina, and the status of education, clinical research and translation of new diabetes treatment methods in South Carolina
  • Oversees all operations of the Diabetes Center of Excellence Advisory Committees, Outreach Council and Surveillance Council
  • Makes annual budget requests to the General Assembly to support the activities of the Diabetes Initiative of South Carolina Board

Helpful Links


Diabetes Initiative of SC Board of Directors:

Usah Lilavivat, MD (Chair)
Carolina Diabetes & Kidney Center, Sumter, SC

Bryan Amick, PharmD, MS, MBA
Bureau Director, SC Department of Health and Human Services

Pamela Arnold, MSN APRN, BC-ADM, CDE
Chair, Diabetes Center of Excellence Council,
Nurse Administrator, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolic Diseases, MUSC

Virginie DaGuise, PhD
Director, SC DHEC Bureau of Chronic Disease & Injury Prevention

Kathie L. Hermayer, MD, MS
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolic Diseases, MUSC

Rhonda Hill, PhD, MCHES®
SC DHEC, Division of Diabetes and Heart Disease Management

Kelly Hunt, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Division Leader for Epidemiology,
Department of Public Health Sciences, MUSC

Carolyn Jenkins, DrPH, APRN, RD, CDE
College of Nursing, Professor Emeritus, MUSC

Katherine Lewis, MD
Pediatric/Adult Endocrinology, Greenville Hospital System

Timothy J. Lyons, MD
Diabetes Free South Carolina and Division of
Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolic Diseases, MUSC

Michelle Nichols, PhD
Assistant Professor, College of Nursing, MUSC

Karen Reeves, BSN, MHHA, FACHE
South Carolina Hospital Association


Diabetes Initiative of SC Advisory Members

Yaw Boateng, MS, MPH, RD, LD, CDE
Carolina Diabetes and Kidney Center, Sumter, SC

Stephen P. Williams
Special Counsel, Greenville, SC

Diabetes Initiative of SC Ex-Officio Members

Edwin Bransome, M.D.
Internal Medicine/ Endocrinology

David J. Cole, M.D.
President, Medical University of South Carolina

John A. Colwell, M.D., Ph.D.           
Past Board Chair, Diabetes Initiative of South Carolina
Professor Emeritus

Stephen H. Smith
Past Board Chair
American Diabetes Association

Lisa K. Saladin, PT, Ph.D.
Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs & Provost
Medical University of South Carolina