DSC Board of Directors

The Diabetes Initiative of South Carolina Board of Directors:

  • Annually assesses the effects of diabetes mellitus in South Carolina, and the status of education, clinical research and translation of new diabetes treatment methods in South Carolina
  • Oversees all operations of the Diabetes Center of Excellence Advisory Committees, Outreach Council and Surveillance Council
  • Makes annual budget requests to the General Assembly to support the activities of the Diabetes Initiative of South Carolina Board

Helpful Links

Upcoming DSC Board Meetings

December 7, 2018
Location: USC - 3209 Colonial Drive, Columbia (2nd floor conference room)

  • 9:30 a.m. - 11 a.m. Outreach Council
  • 11 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Surveillance Council
  • 1 p.m. – 2 p.m. Executive/Finance Committee
  • 2 p.m. - 4 p.m. Board of Directors

March 1, 2019
Location: MUSC, Charleston, SC

  • 9:30 a.m. - 11 a.m. Outreach Council
  • 11 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Surveillance Council
  • 1 p.m. – 2 p.m. Executive/Finance Committee
  • 2 p.m. - 4 p.m. Board of Directors

 

Diabetes Initiative of SC Board of Directors:

Usah Lilavivat, M.D.
Board Chair, Diabetes Initiative of South Carolina
Internal Medicine, Carolina Diabetes & Kidney Center
Sumter Medical Specialists
usah.lilavivat@cdkc.net

Bryan Amick, Pharm.D., MS, MBA
Bureau Director
SC Department of Health and Human Services
bryan.amick@scdhhs.gov

Pamela C. Arnold, MSN, APRN, BC-ADM, CDE
Chair, Diabetes Center of Excellence Council
Clinical Director, MUSC Diabetes Center
arnoldpc@musc.edu          

Brent Egan, M.D.
Hypertension Initiative of SC
Medical University of South Carolina
eganbm@musc.edu         

Elizabeth Todd Heckel, MSW, CDE
Chair, Outreach Council
University of South Carolina, College of Medicine
elizabeth.todd-heckel@uscmed.sc.edu       

Kathie L. Hermayer, M.D.
Division of Endocrinology
Medical University of South Carolina
hermayer@musc.edu

Rhonda Hill, Ph.D., CHES
SC DHEC - Health Services
hillrl@dhec.sc.gov

Carolyn Jenkins, DrPH, APRN, RD, CDE, FAAN
MUSC College of Nursing
American Association of Diabetes Educators
jenkinsc@musc.edu 

Katherine Lewis, M.D.
Division of Endocrinology, Division of Pediatric Endocrinology
Medical University of South Carolina
lewiska@musc.edu

Timothy J. Lyons, M.D.
Director, Division of Endocrinology
Medical University of South Carolina
lyonstj@musc.edu

Ronald Mayfield, M.D.
Endocrinology – Spartanburg
rmayfield@rkmmd.com

Bryce Nelson, M.D., Ph.D.
SC Medical Association
University Medical Group, Greenville Hospital System
bnelsonmdphd@ghs.org

Karen Reeves, BSN, MHHA, FACHE
Vice President, Quality & Patient Safety
SC Hospital Association
kreeves@scha.org 

Ali Rizvi, M.D.
SC Medical Association
ali.rizvi@uscmed.sc.edu

Diabetes Initiative of SC Advisory Members

Yaw Boateng, MS, MPH, RD, LD, CDE
Registered/Licensed Dietitian
boateny@dhec.sc.gov

David Garr, M.D.
SC AHEC
garrdr@musc.edu

Stephen P. Williams
Attorney at Law
swilliams@hsblawfirm.com


Diabetes Initiative of SC Ex-Officio Members

Edwin Bransome, M.D.
Internal Medicine/ Endocrinology
bransomejr@bellsouth.net

David J. Cole, M.D.
President, Medical University of South Carolina
coledj@musc.edu

John A. Colwell, M.D., Ph.D.           
Past Board Chair, Diabetes Initiative of South Carolina
Professor Emeritus
colwelja@musc.edu 

Daniel Lackland, DrPH
Past Chair, DSC Board of Directors
Past Chair, Surveillance Council
MUSC Dept. of Neurosciences
lackland@musc.edu

Stephen H. Smith
Past Board Chair
American Diabetes Association
shsmith@csisc.com

Lisa K. Saladin, PT, Ph.D.
Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs & Provost
Medical University of South Carolina
saladinl@musc.edu