Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology

MUSC Shawn Jenkins Children’s Hospital & Pearl Tourville Women’s Pavilion

Artists rendering of the view of the Shawn Jenkins Children's Hospital from the Ashley River


The Medical University of South Carolina is a freestanding state-supported university offering graduate and undergraduate degrees in a range of health-related fields. The medical school is one of the oldest in the country and currently graduates approximately 180 medical students annually. Most of the clinical departments support residency programs and fellowships. The Medical University Hospital complex includes a Children’s Hospital that has been rated among the best in the country.

Meet our education team, with Dr. Gene Chang serving as Director of Education. Our responsibilities include patient care, research, and education. In fact, the latter priorities support the former, as we train excellent physicians who will both treat patients and pursue new and creative ways of caring for the population.

We have a tremendous faculty with a wide range of interests. Our residents are bright and compassionate individuals, and we have the privilege of working with the medical students at the Medical University of South Carolina. Explore our site and find out more about us. We are sure you will like what you see.

Dr Gene Chang Obgyn MFM profile

Eugene Chang, M.D.

Director of Education, MFM Fellowship Director

Rachael Cowherd 

Rachael Cowherd, M.D.

Assistant Clerkship Director

Dr Chris Goodier Obgyn MFM profile

Christopher Goodier, M.D.

Residency Director

Dr Wendy Lazenby Obgyn RID profile

Gweneth Lazenby, M.D.

RID Fellowship Director

Dr Ashlyn Savage Obgyn  profile

Ashlyn Savage, M.D.

Assistant Residency Director

Dr David Soper Obgyn RID profile

David Soper, M.D.

Assistant RID Fellowship Director

Dr Krista Wagoner Obgyn profile

Krista Wagoner, M.D.

Clerkship Director