Scholarship & Aid Opportunities

College of Medicine Scholarships

Apply for an Incoming/Current Students Scholarship

Although federal aid is the primary source used by most medical students to pay for medical school, the MUSC College of Medicine offers a variety of scholarships to assist with the financial burden of medical school.  Some scholarships are merit-based, others are need-based, but the primary goal of our scholarship program is to maximize all available funds to assist students in lowering their overall educational indebtedness.

Current Scholarships: 

A list of the endowed scholarships available for COM students through the MUSC Foundation can be found on the MUSC Medical Student Scholarship page.  This list is updated as often as possible, but some scholarships may not be available on an annual basis due to changes in the fund’s corpus amount.  Specific questions regarding scholarships may be directed to the officers listed on the Scholarship Application.

How and When to Apply:

Accepted and continuing medical students will receive a scholarship email in mid-January with information and directions on how to apply.  As noted on the application, the final deadline for submission of this scholarship application is April 9.

Review Process: 

All applications are reviewed by a Scholarship Committee comprised of various COM faculty, and members of the offices of Admissions, Diversity, Development, Student Affairs, Financial Aid, Student Accounting, and the Medical University Foundation. Academics and financial need, as well as, exemplary characteristics in compassion and cultural awareness, leadership, resilience, and published research are all considered by the Scholarship Committee when selecting students for scholarships. Most students qualify, in some way, for many of the scholarships, but the Committee is responsible for determining who best meets the specifications of each scholarship.  The number of scholarships awarded each year depends on the number of students who apply and the amount of available funding.

Scholarship Notification:

Newly accepted students are notified of scholarship awards by mid-April.  Continuing students are notified by mid-May.  The submission of one scholarship application per year is all that is required to remain eligible for additional scholarships that may become available after the main award process has ended.


Questions concerning scholarships should be directed to:

Wanda Taylor
Assistant Dean for Scholarship Support and Development

Charlotte Kerr, M.Ed.
Director of Admissions

Additional Scholarship & Financial Aid Information

S.C. Rural Health Loan Forgiveness Program

The State of South Carolina is facing a significant shortage of healthcare providers, especially in the rural and underserved areas.  To address this shortage, the South Carolina Center for Rural and Health Care has received funding for the Rural Practice Loan Forgiveness Program.  This program was developed to help increase the number of health care workers in the rural and underserved areas of South Carolina.  Students from all publicly affiliated S.C. medical and health professions schools are eligible to apply for this statewide loan forgiveness program.  At this time, students enrolled in a MD degree program are eligible to receive a total of $120,000 over four years of medical school.  For information on applying to the program and the years required in service to the state after residency, please visit the websites below. The priority deadline for application is April 1.

Program Fact Sheet

Note: This is program is administered through the University of South Carolina, but is open to all South Carolina students as described above.

Armed Forces Health Professions Scholarship Program 

Contractual scholarships for military service

MUSC Financial Aid Office

Cost of Attendance