DSC Outreach Council

The Mission of the DSC Outreach Council is to oversee and direct efforts in patient education and primary care to include:

  • Promoting adherence to national standards of education and care.
  • Ongoing assessment of patient care, costs, and reimbursement issues for persons with diabetes in South Carolina.
  • Preparing an annual report and budget proposal for submission to the Diabetes Initiative of South Carolina Board.

DSC Outreach Council Members:

Elizabeth Todd Heckel, MSW, CDE
Chair, Outreach Council
DSC/USC Midlands Site
elizabeth.todd-heckel@uscmed.sc.edu

Yaw Boateng, MS, MPH, RD, LD, CDE
SC DHEC, WiseWoman Program
boateny@dhec.sc.gov

Dana Burshell, MPH, CCRP
Program Coordinator, SCTR
burshell@musc.edu

Kathie L. Hermayer, M.D., MS
Board Chair, DSC
Endocrinology, MUSC
hermayer@musc.edu

Angela D'Antonio Hitch
Dept. of Epidemiology & Biostatistics
USC
ahitch@w.mp.sc.edu

Carolyn Jenkins, DrPH, APRN, BC-ADM
MUSC College of Nursing
jenkinsc@musc.edu

Freda King
SC Vocational Rehabilitation
aking@scvrd.state.sc.us

Angela Liese, Ph.D., MPH, FAHA
Professor, USC
Dept of Epidemiology & Biostatistics
liese@mailbox.sc.edu

Diane Mathews, MS
Lowcountry AHEC
mathewsd@lcahec.com

Andrea Cantey Miller
SC DHHS
Office of Minority Health
canteya@scdhhs.gov

Aunyika Moonan, Ph.D.
Director, Quality Measurement
SC Hospital Association
amoonan@scha.org 

Marla Riley
SC DHHS
rileymr@scdhhs.gov

Carmen Santiago
Chair, SC Hispanic/Latino Outreach
santiagoc@midlandstech.edu

Wendy Taylor, RN, CDE
Diabetes Educator
Palmetto Community Health Program
wetcde530@aol.com

Eileen DeBauche Ward, Pharm.D.
Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Presbyterian College of Pharmacy
edward@presby.edu

R. Anne Woodward, MSN, MHA, BSA
Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System
awoodward04@gmail.com

Pamela Arnold, MSN, APRN, BC-ADM
Chair, Diabetes Center Council
MUSC
arnoldpc@musc.edu

Cyglinda Boykin, LPN, BS
Diabetes Health Specialist
Blue Choice Health Plan
cyglinda.boykin@bluechoicesc.com

John A. Colwell, M.D.
Past Board Chair, DSC
Endocrinology, Professor Emeritus
colwelja@musc.edu

Rhonda Hill, Ph.D., CHES
SC DHEC
Diabetes Prevention and Control Program
hillrl@dhec.sc.gov

Kelly Hunt, Ph.D.
Dept of Biostatistics & Epidemiology
MUSC
huntke@musc.edu

Tommy Johnson, Pharm.D., BC-ADM, CDE
School of Pharmacy
Presbyterian College
tjohnson@presby.edu

Sam Kwon, M.D.
Associate Professor
Endocrinology, MUSC
kwonso@musc.edu

Gayenell Magwood, Ph.D., RN
Professor, College of Nursing
MUSC
magwoodg@musc.edu

Edi McNinch, RN, CDE
DHEC
Home Health Services
mcninced@dhec.sc.gov

Michelle Moody, BA
SC DHEC
Diabetes Prevention & Control Program
moodyrm@dhec.sc.gov

Michelle Nichols, Ph.D., RN
Assistant Professor
MUSC College of Nursing
nicholmg@musc.edu

Ali Rizvi, M.D.
USC School of Medicine
arizvi@gw.mp.sc.edu

Sarah P. Smith, MAT, RD, LD, CDE
Diabetes Educator/Nutritionist
CCME
ssmith@thecarolinascenter.org

Tom Waldrep
MUSC Academic Support Services
waldrept@musc.edu

Marquita Winder, Pharm.D., BCACP
South University School of Pharmacy
marquita.winder@gmail.com