Fellowship Match Results 2021-22

Natalie Wilson
December 29, 2021
Fellowship Header 2021-22

Please join us in congratulating this year’s residents and our divisions on another successful fellowship match for appointment year 2022!

We matched 20 residents with 2 in Cardiology, 6 in Gastroenterology, 3 in Palliative Care, 1 in Hematology/Oncology, 1 in Infectious Diseases, 3 in Pulmonary/Critical Care Medicine, and 4 in Rheumatology.

We also congratulate the divisions in the Department of Medicine for attracting a phenomenal group of incoming fellows. Each of the 14 fellowship programs across the Department had a successful fellowship match day.

The success of our trainees is a direct reflection of our faculty’s dedication to mentoring, teaching, and supporting our residents in their scholarly endeavors.


Department of Medicine Current Resident Fellowship Match Results 2021-22

Resident Fellowship Match graphic

To view the full match results by division, please see below:


Nnamdi Azih, MD - UAB
Anurag Deeconda, MD - Hofstra University

Gastroenterology & Hepatology:

Avery Chisholm, MD - UAB
Kristen Miller, MD - Howard
Hampton Sasser, MD - MUSC
Romik Srivastava, MD - MUSC
Molly Stone, MD - Michigan
Michael Sutton, MD – Oklahoma

Palliative Care:

Victoria Sweetnam, MD - MUSC
Abby Southard, MD - Arkansas
Sophia Urban, MD – MUSC

Hematology & Oncology:

Alex Bray, MD – Michigan

Infectious Diseases:

Jensie Burton, MD – MUSC

Pulmonary & Critical Care:

Ashley Reluzco, MD - VCU
Spenser Staub, MD - MUSC
Elena Vlachos, MD – MUSC

Rheumatology & Immunology:

Jake Altier, MD - MUSC
Kim Cichelli, MD - Temple
Prarthana Jain, MD - UNC
Rachael Werner, MD – MUSC


Department of Medicine Fellowship Match Results by Division

We are thrilled to welcome our new fellows to MUSC beginning in 2022. The Department of Medicine matched: 11 in Cardiology, 2 in Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolic Diseases, 4 in Gastroenterology & Hepatology, 2 in Hospice and Palliative Medicine, 4 in Hematology & Oncology, 2 in Infectious Diseases, 6 in Nephrology, 8 in Pulmonary, Critical Care, Allergy & Sleep Medicine, and 3 in Rheumatology & Immunology.

To view the full match results by division, please see below:

General Cardiology:

Thomas Bigham, MD - Emory
Cole Buchanan, MD - Colorado
JR Peacock, MD - Duke
Neil Phillips, MD - Vanderbilt
Kirsten Raby, MD - Wake Forest
Safanah Siddiqui, MD – Maryland
R. Andy Sims, MD - Vanderbilt

Cardiac Electrophysiology Fellowship:

Fergie Ramos, MD - University of Miami, Chief Resident
George Waits, MD - Houston Methodist

Advanced Heart Failure & Transplant Cardiology Fellowship:

Jagpreet Grewal, MD – Rutgers
Michael A. Rofael, MD - University of Kentucky

Interventional Cardiology Fellowship:

Matthew Evans, MD - MUSC
Samuel Powell, MD - MUSC
Shane Reighard, MD - MUSC


Khaled Alhbshi, MD - Texas Tech University Health Science
Darell Caesario, MD - Montefiore New Rochelle Hospital

Gastroenterology & Hepatology

Nida Choudry, MD - University of Alabama
Hampton Sasser, MD - MUSC
Romik Srivastava, MD – MUSC
Jake Wilson, MD - University of Florida

General Internal Medicine - Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellowship:

Victoria Sweetnam, MD - MUSC
Sophia Urban, MD (Med-Peds) - MUSC


Abed Aljamal, MD - Mount Sinai Medical Center of Florida
Zhubene Mesbah, MD - Mayo Clinic
Aswani Thurlapati, MD - Louisiana State University
Shobi Venkatachalam, MD - Nazareth Hospital

Infectious Diseases:

Helen “Jensie” Burton, MD - MUSC
Adero Francis, MD - Wellstar Kennestone Regional Medical Center


Kevin Andrew Bodker, DO - Aurora HC
Eily Hayes, DO - IM Hamilton Medical Center
Thien Ho, DO - IM Unity Health
Erik Mai, MD - IM Sunrise Health
Monica Popovici Marton, MD - University of Washington; Assistant Clinical Professor, Washington State University, Elson S Ford College
Salem Mohammad, MD - IM Mercy Catholic Medical Center; Hospitalist, Indiana University

Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine:

Alison Travers, MD – Tufts
Brady Otten, MD - Cleveland Clinic
Elena Vlachos, MD – MUSC
Spenser Staub, MD - MUSC
Vidhya Aroumougame, MD - Yale

Critical Care Medicine Fellows:

Andrew Hinson, MD - University of Tennessee
Tyler Moore, MD - Summa Health

Sleep Medicine Fellow:

Abigail Dy, MD - MUSC

Rheumatology & Immunology:

Jake Altier, MD – MUSC
Lauren Berry, MD - Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Rachael Werner, MD - MUSC