Resident Awards and Distinctions

  • Lex Booth, M.D. awarded a 2-year post-doctoral fellowship through the VA Quality Scholars Program for his work in Defining Healthcare Disparities in the Management of Inflammatory Bowel Disease.
  • Denise Garcia, M.D.  manuscript: Resident-Driven Wellness Initiatives Improve Resident Wellness and Perception of Work Environment accepted for publication in the Journal of Surgical Research; presentations at the Academic Surgical Congress“Surgical Resident Wellness Scores Improved Long-term Following Implementation of Wellness Measures” with Dr. Abbott as the PI  and  “High Fat-Induced Obese Conditions Drive an Aggressive Pancreatic Cancer Phenotype” with Dr. Camp as the PI.
  • Steve Hermiz, M.D. passed the certifying Examination for the American College of Surgeons.
  • Melissa Hite, M.D. manuscript: A Multi-Faceted Approach to Opioid Education, Prescribing, and Disposal for Breast Cancer Patients accepted for publication in the Journal of Surgical Research.
  • Kunal Patel, M.D. matched into the Cardiothoracic Fellowship at UVA.
  • Raphael Parrado, M.D.  received the 2020 Resident of the Year award from the National Hispanic Medical Association.
  • Leah Plumblee, M.D. awarded second place in the Western Trauma Association Resident Paper competition.
  • Kristen Quinn, M.D.  awarded a T-32 Cardiovascular Fellowship at MUSC.
  • Chris Thomas, M.D. selected to serve on the ACS FSC Resident Advisory Council.n Haley Zlomke, M.D. awarded a T-32 Fellowship at Johns Hopkins.

Residents Score Record High on ABSITE

Sixteen general surgery residents scored greater than 70th percentile on the American Board of Surgery In-Training Examination (ABSITE), given annually to measure the progress residents have made in their knowledge of applied science and management of clinical problems related to surgery. Five of these residents scored greater than 90th percentile. “The ABSITE is basically an annual measuring stick to let residents know where they are in their preparation for the written boards,” said Christian Streck, M.D., General Surgery Residency Program Director.

Streck reports this year’s results were the best in his 12 years at MUSC.  “A lot of credit goes to Aaron Lesher, M.D., MSCR, who was the 2019-20 Basic Science Program Coordinator, the residents who consistently put in the hard work, and the faculty who are committed to resident education,” said Streck.  Congratulations to this year’s “Top Guns” for scoring greater than 70%ile on the ABSITE! (Note: * indicates greater than 90%ile; + indicates research year): 

  • Ahmed Allawi, M.D., PGY5
  • Shelby Allen, M.D., PGY5 *
  • Monther Altiti, M.D., PGY4
  • Lex Booth, M.D., PGY2*
  • Cathy Chung, M.D., PGY 3+
  • Denise Garcia, M.D., PGY2+*
  • Bryce Lambert, M.D., PGY 1*
  • John Lucas, M.D., PGY1
  • David Mann, M.D., PGY1
  • Anna Matrachisia, M.D., PGY4
  • Graham Mercier, M.D., PGY2
  • David Moffatt, M.D., PGY5
  • Taofeek Olajire-Aro, M.D., PGY3 *
  • Michael O’ Laughlin, M.D., PGY3
  • Julie Siegel, M.D., PGY2+
  • Chris Thomas, M.D., PGY1