Resident Committee Representatives

July 2023 to June 2024

Graduate Medical Education
The GMEC oversees all educational programs and implements the policies and procedures for residents and residency programs within MUSC ensuring high-quality education for its residents. The GMEC ensures programs are adhering to the policies and procedures of the ACGME while maintaining their educational commitment to the residents.

• Ruth Bishop, Internal Medicine & Psychiatry
• Carson Keck, Cardiology
• Timothy Webb, Neurosurgery
• John Bowman, Internal Med/Pediatrics
• Jessica Stockinger, Anesthesiology (House Staff Council President)

Annual Program Evaluation
The APE Committee ensures all ACGME-accredited residency programs are in compliance with ACGME Institutional and Program Requirements. This committee will have two residents that will serve a full academic year (July – June).

• Lead Residents:
    Alexis Angel Guevara, Psychiatry
    Anna Fairfax, Radiology

• Resident Members
Farris Langley, Anesthesia
  Mike North, Family Medicine
    Chandler Graf, Internal Medicine
    Erika Rubin, Pediatrics  
    Tyler Rives, Surgery
    David Mann, Surgery


Medical Executive
The MEC is the professional policy board of the hospital and is responsible for supervision and enforcement of all professional policies, rules and regulations. Its purpose is to ensure high quality, patient-centered, cost effective care throughout MUSC's clinical enterprise.

• Alex McClanahan, Psychiatry

MUSC Ethics
The Ethics Committee works to improve patient care within an ethical framework. Committee functions include clinical consultation, policy development and review, and ethics education.

• Bethany Bruno, OBGYN


Blood Utilization Review
The BUR committee monitors the use of blood and blood components at the MUSC Medical Center.

• Thomas Brenzel, Internal Medicine & Pediatrics


Hospital Infection Control
The ICC investigates and controls nosicomial infections and monitors the MUHA Infection Control program. It is a Medical Staff Committee responsible for the development and implementation of policies and practices to decrease Health care-associated infections in patients and staff.

• Jake Altier, Rheumatology 


Quality Executive Committee
The QEC reports and reviews all new and ongoing quality efforts in the clinical enterprise.

• Andrew Nesmith, Internal Medicine


The IMPROVE Committee gives guidance and recommendations on all quality projects that have been endorsed by the senior leaders within the hospital and medical staff. The role is to ensure that the IMPROVE process is followed and that there are relevant and sustained results. This committee makes the final recommendation on whether projects are appropriate to close or not.

• Jessica Stockinger, Anesthesia


College of Medicine Student Progress Committee
The Student Progress Committee conducts meetings four times a year as well as on an as needed basis. During these meetings the Progress Committee reviews the academic progress of all students with regard to established progression standards. Students who do not meet required academic or professional standards are considered individually by the Progress Committee. If there concern about a pattern of a student’s unprofessional behavior, the student will appear before the professional standards subcommittee. These meetings are held as needed, but historically there have been about 4 to 6 of these meetings a year. The meetings of the Student Progress Committee are usually from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m., 601 CSB.

• Nicole Miranda, Psychiatry

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

The Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (UCC) has full and final responsibility for ensuring that the curriculum, in each phase and as a whole, effectively addresses the institutional learning objectives (ILOs) for the program leading to the MD degree and meets compliance with the LCME accreditation standards. Two residents are elected by a call for nominations through the Office of Graduate Medical Education; they serve for 2 years, alternating years, so ONE resident is elected each year.

• Eliza Danahy, Diagnostic Radiology


Clinical Sciences Planning and Evaluation Committee Overview
*Comprised of clinical clerkship directors and coordinators from the main and regional campuses, various course directors, clinical and basic science faculty, associate deans for curriculum, medical students, and representatives from Student Affairs, the Education Technology team, and the Office of Assessment, Evaluation and Quality Improvement.
*Plans, implements, coordinates, and reviews all required clinical courses in accordance with LCME guidelines and with approval of the College of Medicine (COM) Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (UCC).
*Reviews and approves selective and elective clinical course development and evaluation reports submitted by the Selectives and Electives Committee
*Designs assessment and evaluation tools for measuring student competency and curriculum effectiveness and reports student learning and curriculum outcomes to the UCC.
*Makes recommendations to the UCC for curricular quality improvement in years 3 and 4, and oversees quality improvement initiatives.
*Participates in ongoing efforts to integrate the COM competencies and Institutional Learning Objectives (ILOs) across the four-year curriculum through collaboration with the preclinical planning and evaluation committees as directed by the UCC.

• Harrison Quaal, Psychiatry


The Learning Environment Review Committee (LERC)

The Learning Environment Review Committee (LERC) is responsible for monitoring reports of student mistreatment and learning environment concerns. The committee is comprised of deans, students, resident, and Dean’s Office Staff. The committee functions in an advisory role on the prevention of mistreatment and enhancement of professionalism in the teaching and learning environment. LERC meets virtually twice per quarter (every 3 months (Jan., Apr., July, Oct.) on the 2nd & 3rd Wednesday at 3:30pm) for a total of 8 meetings a year. At-large residents will serve a 2-year term.

Ruth Bishop, Internal Medicine & Psychiatry
• Nancy Suarez, Psychiatry