Awards and Distinctions

faculty recognition

Andrea Abbott, M.D. MSCR Chair of the MUSC College of Medicine Faculty Council, Patient Safety and Quality Committee for the American Society of Breast Surgeons; Golden Apple Clinical Awards: Faculty Award winner 

Prabhakar Baliga M.D. Nominated to serve on the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services  Advisory Committee on Organ Transplantation

Ian Bostock, M.D. MS   Society for Thoracic Surgeons (STS) Leadership Institute,  STS Task Forces for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and International Education.

T. Karl Byrne MD Distinguished Faculty Service Award

Thomas Curran MD MPH – Hollings Cancer Center Clinical Scholar for 2022-2024

 Denise Carneiro-Pla, M.D. Councilor of the American Association of Endocrine Surgeons; Distinguished Moderator American Association of Endocrine Surgeons Annual Meeting

MUSC President David J. Cole, M.D.  Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce  Joseph P. Riley Leadership Award

Heather Evans, M.D. MS   MUSC  Physician Quality Partner of the Year Award

Virgilio George M.D.  National Accreditation Program for Rectal Cancer (NAPRC) Education Governance Committee

Barry Gibney DO  NCI K12 Paul Calabresi Career Development Award for Clinical Oncology

Ashley Hink, M.D. MPH  College of Medicine Faculty Council

Kevin Hughes, M.D.   Board of Directors of the American Society of Breast Surgeons  

Arman Kilic, M.D. John M. Kratz, M.D. Endowed Chair in Cardiac Surgery and Research

Nancy Klauber-DeMore, M.D.   Annals of Surgical Oncology Editorial Board; MUSC Hollings Cancer Center’s Developmental Cancer Therapeutics Program co-leader.

Jean Marie Ruddy, M.D.  American Heart Association Vascular Health Advisory Committee, NIH Proposal Academy

John McGillicuddy, M.D. American Society of Transplant Surgeons Transplant Accreditation & Certification Council Program Accreditation Committee 

Rupak Mukherjee, Ph.D. Golden Apple  Preclerkship Awards: HRR Faculty Award Winner

 Nicolas Pope, M.D. American Association for Thoracic Surgery Dwight Harken Research Scholar

Rana Pullatt, M.D. Chair, International Development Committee American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery; American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Overall Program co-chair

T Konrad Rajab, M.D. Brett Boyer Foundation Discovery Award, Saving Tiny Hearts Society Award

Robert Sade, M.D.   Expertscape World Expert in Philosophy.

Keith Smalls Charleston County Criminal Justice Coordinating Council Governance Committee; TEDx Charleston presenter  

Christian Streck, M.D.  Chair American Pediatric Surgical Association Trauma Committee; reappointed to the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma

David Taber, Pharm.D., BS American Society of Transplantation  Distinguished Senior Career Award

Cynthia Talley, M.D. Associate Member, Academy of Master Surgeon Educators ; Vice-Chair of the American College of Surgeons  Young Fellows Association, SC ACS President  

Dirk Van der Windt, M.D. Ph.D. ASTS Natera cfDNA Faculty Research Grant

Ravi Veeraswamy, M.D. Elliott-Robison Endowed Chair in Vascular Surgery

Hongjun Wang, Ph.D.  co-director for the SCTR Pilot Translational & Clinical Studies Program, American Diabetes Association’s (ADA) Islet Biology, Development, & Function Interest Group Leadership Team

 Sanford Zeigler, M.D   Thoracic Surgery Foundation Nicholas Kouchoukos  Award