Ben Clyburn, M.D., appointed chair of the Department of Medicine

Natalie Wilson
April 28, 2021
Dr. Ben Clyburn
[No text in fid]

After serving as interim chair since March 2020, Ben Clyburn, M.D., professor of medicine, has been named chair of the Department of Medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) College of Medicine. Clyburn will oversee the clinical, education and research programs of the department, which consists of 10 divisions and is the largest at the MUSC College of Medicine.

“It has been a privilege to serve the MUSC Department of Medicine as interim chair for these past 12 months and I am absolutely delighted and honored to be the Department of Medicine's new chair. Having been in the department for over 20 years, I already knew that our people are outstanding for their brilliance, their compassion and their drive. I am humbled and deeply honored to have the opportunity to serve as leader for such an outstanding group of people. There is literally no limit to the impact we can have as a department, and in collaboration across the institution, to lead advances in medicine. We are entering a tremendously exciting time in medical science, and we are positioned extremely well to effect changes that improve our understanding of human health and to develop personalized strategies to care for patients. My commitment to each of you is that I will work tirelessly to support all of our missions. My only agenda is our patients, our donors, our learners, and our faculty and staff. This past year has been uniquely challenging, but we are stronger because of this challenge. I am looking forward to an exciting year ahead,” said Clyburn.

Dr. Clyburn joined MUSC in 1997 as the Associate Residency Program Director in Internal Medicine, and then assumed the role of Program Director two years later. During his career at MUSC, he has held numerous leadership positions, including, Secretary, Vice President, and President of the Medical Staff; Associate Dean for GME-Faculty Development; Senior Associate Dean for GME and CME; and Designated Institutional Official (DlO) for Graduate Medical Education (current). He has served on the Nonprescription Drugs Advisory Committee for the U.S. FDA and served seven years on the ACGME Review Committee for Internal Medicine. A Fellow of the American College of Physicians, Dr. Clyburn has also served as an active member of the Society of General Internal Medicine and the Association of Program Directors in Internal Medicine. He has been the recipient of a number of other honors including Best Doctors of America and the Golden Apple Award.

About the Author

Natalie Wilson

Keywords: Faculty and Staff, General Announcements