2022 Department of Medicine Faculty Award Recipients

Natalie Wilson
July 18, 2022
2022 Faculty Awards Recipients

The James W. Colbert Lectureship and Faculty Awards & Recognition Ceremony, hosted by the MUSC Office of the Provost, is an annual event held on the first Tuesday of the fall semester to kick off the academic year and celebrate outstanding faculty at MUSC. This year, the event is on Tuesday, August 16, at 4:30 p.m., in the Drug Discovery Auditorium. Seating will open at 4 p.m., and a reception will follow. Tenelle O. Jones, LMFT, LAC, will be the keynote speaker and will be presenting “More Than a Champion: Still Rising and Shining!”

This event is an excellent opportunity for faculty to meet and interact with faculty from all colleges. It’s also a time to recognize the new faculty who have joined the ranks.

We hope you will join in celebrating the following Department of Medicine faculty award recipients who will be recognized:

Distinguished Faculty Service Award
To recognize faculty who, over a substantial portion of their careers, have provided exceptional and sustained service and who have made contributions in teaching, research, health care, and/or public service to the University and to the citizens of South Carolina.
Kim DavisKimberly Davis, M.D., FACP
Professor and Interim Director, Division of General Internal Medicine
Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, Department of Medicine



Teaching Excellence Educator Mentor Award – Clinical Professional
To recognize faculty for excellence in mentoring and serving as a role model for students in clinical or research activities.
Dr. Marc HeincelmanMarc Heincelman, M.D., MPH
Associate Professor and Interim Director, Division of Hospital Medicine
Clerkship Director, Internal Medicine