Awards and Distinctions

faculty recognition

Honoring John M. Kraz, M.D. 

John Kratz, M.D.The Department of Surgery recognized Dr. John Kratz' many contributions to MUSC, the Department of Surgery and the field of Cardiothoracic Surgery with the naming of an endowed chair in his honor: The John M. Kratz, M.D. Endowed Chair in Cardiac Surgery and Research.


Awards and Distinctions

  • Andrea Abbott, M.D., MSCR named State Chair to the Commission on Cancer Liaison Program for the American College of Surgeons; named the MUSC Faculty Council Chair-Elect for 2020/2021.
  • Milton Armstrong, M.D. appointed Director to the American Board of Plastic Surgery.
  • Scott Bradley, M.D. named Robert M. Sade M.D. Endowed Chair in Pediatric Cardiac Surgery.
  • T. Karl Byrne, M.D. named to MUSC chapter of the National Academy of Inventors.
  • E. Ramsay Camp, M.D., MSCR elected a Fellow in the American Surgical Association.
  • Denise Carneiro-Pla, M.D. nominated by the American College of Radiology (ACR) Committee on Appropriateness Criteria (AC) to represent the American Thyroid Association as an expert member to participate on the ACR AC Parathyroid Adenoma Committee.

  • Chadrick Denlinger, M.D. named the Flora McLeod Edwards Distinguished Endowed Chair in Cancer Research.
  • Nancy DeMore, M.D. appointed to the Society of Surgical Oncology Program Committee, received the HCC Senior Clinical Scholars Award, elected to the Board of Directors of the Make-A-Wish Foundation, SC Chapter, and elected to serve as a Senator for the 2019-2021 term on the MUSC Faculty Senate.
  • Heather Evans, M.D., MS invited to join the Annals of Surgery Editorial Board; appointed to serve as a member of the Surviving Sepsis Campaign Steering Committee for the Society of Critical Care Medicine.
  • Evert Eriksson, M.D. awarded the 2020 MUSC Foundation Outstanding Clinician Award; named Chair of the Lowcountry Regional Trauma Advisory Council.n Elizabeth Genovese, M.D., MS appointed as the Arterial Research Advisory Committee Chair of the Carolinas Vascular Quality Group.
  • Stephen Fann, M.D. President of the South Carolina Chapter of the American College of Surgeons. 
  • Ashley Hink, M.D., MPH accepted to the 2020 EAST INVEST-C Research Hackathon workshop.
  • Steve Kahn, M.D. named Co-Chair of the Lowcountry Regional Trauma Advisory Council.
  • Marc R. Katz, M.D., MPH named the Fred A. Crawford Jr. MD Endowed Chair in Cardiothoracic Surgery.n Laura Hollinger, M.D. elected to serve as Senator for the 2019-2021 term on the MUSC Faculty Senate.
  • Aaron Lesher, M.D. MSCR named IDeA Fellow Idea Fellow, Pediatric Critical Care and Trauma Scientist Development Program (PCCTSDP), Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.
  • Mark Lockett, M.D. received the 2019 Outstanding Federal Manager of the Year Award from the Federal Executive Association of the Greater Charleston Area.
  • Lucian Lozonschi, M.D. named the John M. Kratz, M.D. Endowed Chair in Cardiac Surgery and Research.
  • Shikhar Mehrotra, Ph.D. named Co-Leader of Hollings Cancer Center; appointed to the Cecilia and Vincent Peng Endowed Chair in Melanoma and Cutaneous Oncology.
  • Katherine Morgan, M.D. confirmed by the American College of Surgeons as the SESC Representative to the ACS Advisory Council for General Surgery.
  • Satish Nadig M.D., Ph.D. named to MUSC chapter of the National Academy of Inventors; named the P.K. Baliga, M.D. Endowed Chair in Solid Organ Transplantation.
  • E. Douglas Norcross, M.D. awarded the 2020 MUSC Foundation Distinguished Faculty Service Award.
  • Mark Rubinstein, Ph.D. named to MUSC chapter of the National Academy of Inventors.
  • Jean Marie Ruddy, M.D. selected to participate in the inaugural cohort of the Leadership Development Program, a collaborative effort between the Society for Vascular Surgery, Society for Clinical Vascular Surgery, and the Vascular and Endovascular Surgery Society.
  • Robert M. Sade, M.D. recognized as an Expert Institute World Expert in Professional Ethics.
  • Christian Streck, M.D. appointed to the national ACS Committee on Trauma; named as the APSA Trauma Committee Vice Chair and member of the Southern Surgical Association.
  • David Taber, Pharm.D., MS, BCPS awarded the 2020 ACCP Clinical Practice Award by the Board of Regents and members of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy.
  • Cynthia Talley, M.D. selected to the ACS Certificate in Applied Surgical Education Leadership program; named to the Board of Directors for the Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma; appointed Chair of the Member Service Committee of the Young Fellows Association of the ACS.

Welcome New Faculty

Ashley Hink, M.D. 

Ashley Hink, M.D. MPH

Assistant Professor General and Acute Care Surgery

Steven Kahn, M.D. 

Steven Kahn, M.D.

Chief, Burn Surgery General and Acute Care Surgery


Carlos Zayas, M.D.

Clinical Professor Transplant Surgery

New Faculty Recruits 

Colston Edgerton M.D. 

Colston Edgerton, M.D. 

Assistant Professor GI and Laparoscopic Surgery

Lucas McDuffie, M.D. 

Lucas McDuffie, M.D.

Assistant Professor Pediatric Surgery

Nicolas Pope M.D. 

Nicolas Pope, M.D.

Assistant Professor Cardiothoracic Surgery

Konrad Rajab, M.D. 

Konrad Rajab, M.D. 

Assistant Professor Pediatric Cardiothoracic Surgery

Iris Socomacao MD 

Isis Scomacao, M.D.

Assistant Professor Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Lucas Witer MD 

Lucas Witer, M.D.

Assistant Professor Cardiothoracic Surgery