Surgical Critical Care Fellowship

Program Basics

100% Board Pass Rate | 100% Match Rate | 100% Job Placement

  • Established 2006, ACGME accredited
  • Length: One year w/ possible non-accredited second year
  • Twelve months CC training at a Level One Trauma Center; primary rotation in STICU
  • Limited in-house call (one to two days per month)
  • Weekend rounding approximately two week-ends per month (comp. by noon)
  • Respond to Level A (high-level) traumas
  • Operative cases on ICU patients
  • Lead CC teaching conference (two per month)
  • Three to four months of elective critical care rotations
  • Moonlighting opportunities available, if desired

Why choose MUSC Surgical Critical Care?

  • Fellow participation in both research and quality-improvement project
  • Program pays for attendance of one national conference (regardless of presenting) and one education course of their choice (i.e. ECMO, ATOM, ASSET)
  • Program pays for attendance of one national conference if presenting
  • Exposure to wide patient population of critically ill patients, including transplant, ENT, ECMO with the future addition of a Burn ICU
  • Opportunity to design elective portion of rotation to reflect personal career choice (i.e. Interventional Radiology, CVICU, Cardiac Anesthesia, PICU, NSICU, etc.)

How to Apply

Applications are accepted through the Surgical Critical Care and Acute Care Surgery Fellowship Application Service at the SAFAS website.

Contact Information

Alicia Privette M.D. 

Alicia Privette, M.D.
SCC Program Director

Diane Molnar

Diane Molnar
SCC Program Coordinator
Phone: 843-792-5976
Fax: 843-792-4523

Nationally Recognized Faculty

Bruce Crookes, M.D.
2017 President of the Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma

Cynthia Talley, M.D.
Board of Directors for the Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma (EAST). Serves as the Education Division Chair
Chair of the Member Service Committee of the Young Fellows Association (YFA) of the American College of Surgeons for a two-year term
Inaugural Cohort of the ACS Certificate in Applied Surgical Education Leadership Program

Heather Evans, M.D., MS
Member of the Surviving Sepsis Campaign Steering Committee for the Society of Critical Care Medicine
Co-author on Evaluation of Wound Photography for Remote Postoperative Assessment of Surgical Site Infections published online in JAMA Surgery

Evert Eriksson, M.D.
Chair of the Lowcountry Regional Trauma Advisory Council (LC-RTAC)
Member of the Western Trauma Association

Stephen Fann, M.D.
President of the South Carolina Chapter of the American College of Surgeons.

Steven Kahn, M.D.
Co-chair of the Lowcountry Regional Trauma Advisory Council (LC-RTAC)

Meet the Residents

William Ganske, MD

William Ganske, MD

Residency: Santa Barbara Cottage Hospital

Hometown: Santa Barbara, CA

Hobbies: Spending time with my wife and dog, backpacking, surfing, sailing.


Tabith Threatt, MD 

Tabitha Threatt, MD

Residency: University of Texas Health Science Center of San Antonio

Hometown: Hutto, TX

Hobbies: Gardening, Reading, Writing, Exercising.