Mission, Plan of Action, and Meet the Team

Mission Banner

Our mission is to create an inclusive culture dedicated to shaping the field of surgery to be more diverse. Our goal is to continue to expand our diversity within our talented team, which leads to even more inclusive patient-centered care.

  • Improve department-wide education in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion by providing more impactful content.
  • Continue efforts to increase the number of URMiM resident, fellow, and faculty physicians within the department to better represent the population of South Carolina.
  • Support fair and equitable promotion of female and URMiM faculty.
  • Align the Department of Surgery’s efforts with that of the MUSC Enterprise.
  • Heritage small group discussions and speaker series.
  • Combined faculty, staff, and trainee Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Educational activities.
  • Host dedicated Grand Rounds that will focus on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion topics.
  • Establish permanent display highlighting the diversity within the department.
  • Incorporation of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion topics into the resident and fellow yearly educational schedule.
  • Create a One sheet that will be updated yearly to highlight our success in recruitment/current staffing.
  • Promote MUSC career development opportunities (faculty development round table, WSI, Apple Tree Society, etc.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Team

The Department of Surgery Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Advisory Team is led by Dr. Sharee Wright, Vice Chair of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. Team members include Keller Lee, Fiscal Analyst and Safe Zone Advisory Committee Member, Kaylie Lively, Program Coordinator in Clinical Research, and Kristen Quinn, M.D. who serves as the Resident Ambassador.

S Wright 

Sharee Wright, M.D. 

Vice Chair of DEI

K Lee 

Keller Lee

Fiscal Analyst

Kaylie Lively 

Kaylie Lively

Program Coordinator II

K Quinn 

Kristen Quinn, M.D.

Resident Ambassador

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Advisory Committee

The Department of Surgery Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Advisory Committee comprises multiple team members throughout the department from various divisions. The committee is a combination of faculty, staff, and residents who unite to provide diverse voices and unique perspectives on current and ongoing DEI matters. Our vision is to utilize an interdepartmental multidisciplinary approach to face our challenges and create lasting solutions.

Ian Bostock 

Ian Bostock, M.D., MS

Assistant Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery

Jamie Meyer 

Jamie Meyer

Vice Chair of Finance and Administration

Rup Mukherjee 

Rupak Mukherjee, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery

Jeff Sutton MD 

Jeffrey Sutton, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Surgical Oncology


Demonstration of the Diversity and Cultural Display

Demonstration of the Diversity and Cultural display, which is located on the 4th floor of the Clinical Sciences Building.